117 Trio Wanderer


Vincent Coq, piano Jean-Marc Phillips-Varjabédian, violin Raphaël Pidoux, cello

Toronto Debut

Thursday, October 2, 2014, 1:30 p.m.
Walter Hall, University of Toronto
80 Queen’s Park (Museum Subway Station)

Find Complete Trio Wanderer concert program with notes by John Mayo here.

Review and photos

One of the world’s foremost chamber ensembles, Trio Wanderer is acclaimed for extraordinarily sensitive style, and technical mastery. The Trio has performed on the world’s most prestigious stages from Berlin to Paris to London and from Washington to Bejing to Rio de Janeiro. Members are regulars at major festivals such as Edinburgh, Montreux, and Salzburg. The group has an extensive catalogue of recordings including the complete piano trios of Beethoven, Schubert, and Brahms. Recordings have been awarded several prizes including Choc du Monde de la Musique, Gramophone Critic’s Choice, BBC Music Magazine CD of the Month, and the Diapason d’Or de l’Annee.

Trio Wanderer formed in 1987 when the three French musicians were at the Paris Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique. Now the Trio holds residency in Germany for the Aachen’s Accordate concert society, as well as in Denmark for Copenhagen’s Mogens Dahl Hall. While the Trio’s name derives from Schubert’s song Der Wanderer, D. 493, and its sympathies lie with German Romanticism in general, Trio Wanderer has performed a broad range of works outside the Germanic sphere and the members have a particular affection for contemporary music.

The Trio has premièred several works by Thierry Escaich, Bruno Mantovani, Frank Michael Beyer, and Marco Francescini. Trio Wanderer has won the prestigious Victoires de la musique award for Best Instrumental Ensemble of the Year three times. Jean-Marc Phillips-Varjabédian plays a violin by Petrus GUARNERIUS (Venezia 1748) and Raphaël Pidoux plays a violoncello by Goffredo CAPPA (Saluzzo 1680).


  • Gabriel Fauré – Piano Trio in D Minor, Op. 120
  • Franz Liszt – Piano Trio “Tristia” S723 arr. from Vallée d’Obermann, S160, No. 6
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Piano Trio in A Minor, Op. 50

Website: www.triowanderer.fr Videos:

All artists, dates, and programmes are subject to change without notice.

Scroll to Top