Directors, Advisers, and Patrons


Canadian chamber music performers, classical music concert, Toronto Master Classes

Artistic Director Simon Fryer is an artist of the utmost versatility, at home with the demands of the music of our time and of historical performance, with collaboration and solo recital. In demand for his teaching, coaching, and master class skills he is currently Principal Cello of the Regina Symphony Orchestra. Soloist appearances in Canada with the Regina, Mississauga, and Okanagan symphonies, as well as the Esprit Orchestra have been complemented by performances as guest principal with the Hamilton Philharmonic and internationally with the Orqestra Sinfonica de Tenerife and the United Kingdom’s Northern Sinfonia.

Formerly a member of the JUNO-winning Penderecki String Quartet and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Simon Fryer collaborates regularly with such musicians as the Silver Birch String Quartet, Duo Concertante, and pianist Michael Kim.

His discography of more than 20 recordings includes the solo CD Music of a life so far… acclaimed as “a fascinating collection” by the Toronto Star. His most recent recording of Victorian Cello Sonatas with pianist Leslie De’Ath, released by Centaur, is credited with “expansive playing that never resorts to overly Romantic indulgence” by The Wholenote and “a seductive blend of depth and restraint” by Musical Toronto.

Simon Fryer is Principal Cellist of the Regina Symphony Orchestra, Head of Strings at the Regina Conservatory for the Performing Arts, and founder and director of the Prairie Cello Institute. He has previously held faculty positions at Wilfrid Laurier University, the University of Toronto, and The Glenn Gould School in Canada, and at the Casalmaggiore International Festival in Italy. He is continuously active as a chamber musician, orchestral player, and soloist in more than thirty countries on six continents.

He performs on an Masa Inokuchi cello, an instrument completed in 1998.

The Women’s Musical Club of Toronto is a not-for-profit, charitable organization (Charitable Business Number 12371 8637 RR0001). It is run by one part-time arts administrator, and a large group of dedicated volunteers.

Board of Directors 2020-2021

Kathleen McMorrow, President
Annette Sanger, Vice President, Career Development Award Chair, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee Chair
Diane Martello, Past President, Membership, Concerts & Marketing Committee Chair
Janet Murray, CPA, CA, Secretary-Treasurer
Janne Farias,  WMCT Foundation Representative
Susan Johnston, Archivist, Awards Committee Chair
Kathy Halliday, Director at Large
Jerri Merritt Jones, Registrar, Hospitality Coordinator
Daisy Leung, Director at Large
Tamar Nelson, Student Outreach Coordinator

Honorary Patron

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, OC, OOnt


The Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, PC, CC, CMM, COM, CD
Sir Andrew Davis, CBE Music Director & Principal Conductor, Lyric Opera of Chicago
Catherine Robbin, OC Professor Emeritus, Department of Music, York University

Honorary Advisers

Susan V. Corrigan
Louis Lortie, OC, CQ, Pianist
Don McLean, Faculty of Music, University of Toronto
Esther McNeil Founding Chair, Career Development Award; Founding President, WMCT Foundation
Peter Simon President, The Royal Conservatory of Music

Scroll to Top