116 Bax and Chung, piano duo

Thursday, October 17, 2013, 1.30 PM
Walter Hall, University of Toronto
80 Queen’s Park (Museum Subway Station)

The real life marriage of two great concert pianists, Alessio Bax and Lucille Chung, has led to one of the best piano duos of their generation to cite the United Kingdom magazine Music and Arts. In their Toronto concert Alessio Bax and Lucille Chung will perform a dramatic programme of both duo and solo works, including Stravinsky’s own four hands transcription of his ballet Petrushka and the duo’s own transcription of Three Tangos by the great Argentinian master Astor Piazzolla.

Alessio Bax and Lucille Chung first met in 1997 in Japan and have been performing together since 2003 when they were engaged as a piano duo by the Ottawa Chamber Music Festival in its Piano Extravaganza. Since then the two have appeared on the most prominent concert platforms in the world from Canada to the United Kingdom, throughout Europe, Russia, China, and the United States.

Bax & Chung’s recording of the complete works of György Ligeti for piano four hands and two pianos received prestigious awards in France and Germany. Alessio Bax Plays Brahms was this spring chosen as “Disc of the Week” by CBC Radio Two’s In Concert.

“Good things come in pairs… Pianists of great sensitivity, Bax and Chung are equally matched in virtuosity and temperament — a fact that became abundantly clear in the first movement’s playful cadenza.”
– Fort Worth Star Telegram


  • Felix Mendelssohn – Overture in B Minor “The Hebrides”, Op.26
  • Igor Stravinsky – Petrushka, complete ballet
    (transcribed by the composer for piano four hands)
  • Sergei Rachmaninov – Prelude in C sharp Minor, Op. 3, No. 2
  • Sergei Rachmaninov – Vocalise, Op.34/14 (arr. Bax)
  • Alexander Scriabin – Selected Preludes
  • György Ligeti  – Two Etudes for Piano from Book II
  • Ástor Piazzolla – Three Tangos: Lo que vendrá, Milonga del angel, and Libertango
    (arr. Bax & Chung)


View Artist bio


All artists, dates, and programmes are subject to change without notice.

Comments are closed.

Scroll to Top